Jacques Delors     Print Email

The Honorable Jacques Delors

Jacques Delors was President of the European Commission from 1985 to 1995. Among the landmark developments of his presidency were the successful 1992 Single Market program and the entry into force of the Maastricht Treaty of European Union, furthering political, economic and monetary integration.

In 1996, Delors founded the think tank Notre Europe, that became in 2012 Notre Europe - Jacques Delors Institute, and is today its founding President. 

Delors started his career at the Banque de France in 1945, where he worked until 1962 and was a member of the Economic and Social Council. He became head of the social affairs department of the General Planning Committee until 1969 before being appointed General Secretary for Permanent Training and Social Promotion (1969-1973).

He was a member of Prime Minister Jacques Chaban-Delmas's cabinet (1969-1972), then associate professor at the University of Paris-Dauphine (1974-1979) and was also teaching at the Ecole Nationale d'Administration. He was elected as a Member of the European Parliament in 1979 and chaired the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee until May 1981. He served as France's Minister of Economics and Finance (1981-1984) and Mayor of Clichy (1983-1984).  

From 1992 to 1996 he was chairman of UNESCO's International Commission on Education for the 21st century.  From 1995 to 1999 he was President of the Board of the College of Europe in Bruges. In May 2000, he was appointed president of the CERC (Conseil de l'emploi, des revenus et de la cohésion sociale) until July 2009.

He has been awarded numerous prizes and distinctions : Prix Jean Monnet (1988), Prix Louis Weiss (1989), Prix Prince des Asturies (1989), Prix Charlemagne (1992), Prix Carlos V (1995), Prix Erasme(1997), Prix de l'économie mondiale (2006). He received the Nijmegen Medal of Peace in the Netherlands in March 2010.