Celebrating 25 Years of the Sakharov Prize     Print
Tuesday, 14 January 2014

On January 14, 2014, The European Institute and the European Parliament Liaison Office with the U.S. Congress held a dinner to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the European Parliament’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought. The Sakharov Prize was launched by the European Parliament in 1988 to honor individuals or organizations for their efforts on behalf of human rights and fundamental freedoms.  Sakharov Prize laureates Wei Jingsheng, Jim Hoagland representing Reporters Without Borders, Hauwa Ibrahim and Rosa Maria Payá, representing her father Oswaldo Jose Payá Sardiñas discussed their personal engagement in the fight for democracy and human rights, as well as how greater and sustained support from the international community can effectively advance the spread of fundamental freedoms.  The discussion was moderated by Carl Gershman, President of the National Endowment for Democracy.