European Commission Line-Up     Print Email

Portfolios by Countries (and Parties)


Austria - Johannes Hahn (EPP) - Regional Policy
Belgium - Karel De Gucht (ELDR) - Trade
Bulgaria - Rumiana Jeleva (EPP) - International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response
Cyprus - Androulla Vassiliou (ELDR) - Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth
Czech Republic - Štefan Fule (PES) - Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy
Denmark - Connie Hedegaard (EPP) - Climate Action.
Estonia - Siim Kallas (ELDR) - Transport (Vice-President)
Finland - Olli Rehn (ELDR) - Economic and Monetary Affairs
France - Michel Barnier – (EPP) - Internal Market and Services
Germany - Günter Oettinger (EPP) - Energy.
Greece - Maria Damanaki (PES) - Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.
Hungary - László Andor (PES) - Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion
Ireland - Maire Geoghegan-Quinn (ELDR) – Research, Innovation and Science
Italy - Antonio Tajani (EPP) - Industry and Entrepreneurship (Vice-President)
Latvia - Andris Piebalgs (EPP) - Development
Lithuania - Algirdas Šemeta (EPP) - Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud
Luxembourg - Viviane Reding (EPP) – Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship (Vice-President)
Malta - John Dalli (EPP) - Health and Consumer Policy
Netherlands - Neelie Kroes (ELDR) -Digital Agenda (Vice-President)
Poland - Janusz Lewandowski (EPP) - Budget and Financial Programming.
Portugal – Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso (EPP)
Romania - Dacian Ciolos (EPP) - Agriculture and Rural Development.
Slovakia - Maroš Šefcovic (PES) - Institutional Affairs and Administration (Vice-President)
Slovenia - Janez Potocnik (ELDR) - Environment
Spain - Joaquín Almunia (PES) - Competition (Vice-President)
Sweden - Cecilia Malmstrom (ELDR) - Home Affairs
United Kingdom - Baroness Catherine Ashton (PES) – EU Foreign Policy Chief (Vice-President)

Affiliation by party groups in European Parliament
EPP:     European People’s Party (largely Christian Democrats)
ELDR: European Liberal and Democratic Party
PES:     Party of European Socialists